A Festive Day in London

Last Saturday me and my best friend decided to visit London and pretend to be tourists. As I haven’t done any vlogs since I was traveling in the summer I missed vlogging so much! So I decided to use this opportunity and film a nice festive vlog for you guys 🙂

We arrived in London just after midday and after we both bought a Gingerbread Latte from Starbucks at Victoria Station we made our way towards Buckingham Palace. We always do this “tourist-walk” as I like to call it: after seeing the palace we went through St James’s Park and found the Big Ben with the London Eye, then we headed towards Trafalgar Square. 

dscn1367

Of course, as all the tourists do, we had to take some pictures at the most iconic spots! Here’s a little comparison of me in London now and exactly one year ago (because I love recreating old photos!) (also, I really miss my long hair) :

I still do not know how, but we also managed to finally take the picture that I wanted of me for years! Me standing in the little tunnel opposite Big Ben. Everytime I went there it was so crowded that it was just impossible to take a photo of me alone without any other tourists, and we almost gave up now as well after standing there for approximately half an hour waiting for one person (!!!) to take a picture. But as we were about to leave… suddenly the tourists have disappeared for a couple of moments, and we quickly took the photos. We were so lucky! I can’t even believe it. And here’s the iconic photo that will probably remain my profile picture on Facebook for at least a year:

1p

How amazing is that?

(Can you spot the cheeky seagull? I would’ve been surprised if none of them had decided to ruin my perfect picture. I can still see myself sitting  on Brighton Beach eating my fish and chips without the fish. Since then I am at war with every seagull in the world.)

After this, we continued our sightseeing tour at Baker Street, Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus, Regent Street, Soho, Leicester Square and Covent Garden.

I love going to London in the festive season, the Christmas lights are amazing and the atmosphere of the city is incredibly exciting. I wouldn’t recommend going on a Saturday evening though, especially not during Black Friday weekend, as it was very VERY crowded. But that was kind of expected, and I think it also just added to the excitement of the day. I think my favourite part was Oxford Street because the huge shops are very exciting for me (you don’t see shops like these in Hungary, that’s for sure!) and that’s also the place where they go all out on the Christmas lights. It was just amazing!

I just had the best day ever at my happy place with one of my favourite people! I hope you will all enjoy the vlog as well as my little additional stories in this blog post. Let me know what you think in the comments! Would you like to go visit London in the festive season or would you rather avoid the crowd? What other cities do you like visiting before Christmas?

Hope you all have a great day and are getting as excited for Christmas as I am!

Xx

P.

Leave a Reply

