Adventures in Hungary

As I mentioned in my blog post about my holiday in Croatia, after I visited my friend it was her turn to come and see my home country. I told her it was no big deal, but she seemed to really like it! As it was a special occasion we did some things that we don’t usually do, so I decided to share our adventures with you, and show you some parts of Budapest in case any of you are planning to visit. Feel free to ask me any questions about visiting Hungary in the comments below! And now, here’s the story of our adventure.

The day after we arrived in Hungary was the one we’ve been waiting for, for at least 6 months: seeing our favourite band, Muse live at the Sziget festival. To be fair I have to say that I do not like going to festivals. It’s just not my thing really, but for Muse it was worth it to make an exception. They were absolutely incredible, their music is amazing and it was a great experience to see them play.

After that day when we kind of managed to process that it happened, we went to Budapest to show my friend around. We started at the Parliament and then walked all the way to St. Stephen’s Basilica. The weather was horrible at the beginning, but it started to be really nice during the walk.

For lunch we went to my new favourite restaurant in Budapest: Vintage Garden. It’s such a cute and special place! The last time I went there was during the winter and I remember how cool the decoration was. Now the roof was taken down and the decoration was Hawaii-themed, which I really liked. The menu is amazing, it has so many special dishes but you can also get burgers for example. The staff is also incredibly nice, they really created a happy and friendly atmosphere. For dessert we all had cheesecake with blueberries and oreos, it was sooo good! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone coming to Budapest.

After lunch we went up to the Fisherman’s Bastion, which was a bit crowded but it definitely has one of the best views of the city. If you like walking around and appreciating architecture, definitely check this place out!

The next time we went to Budapest, it was a really bad rainy day. But we didn’t mind as the tourists seemed to disappear. It was also a good idea to visit the zoo on that day, as we could properly see the animals without people blocking the view or children screaming. My favourite part in the zoo was Australia. We saw little koalas hiding on trees and we spent some time observing kangaroos. They were the cutest, jumping around in the rain! One of them was also carrying a baby, it was adorable! We had a little scary situation when we walked into a cave full of huge Australian bats, not suspecting that they were actually released in the room! We realised when we got the other end of the room, and then we thought we were going to die on our way out. The African part of the zoo was also very interesting, we sat for a while looking at the giraffes. One of them was so bored that it started going around in circles and under the necks of the others as they were eating. When it got bored again it started walking backwards. We laughed so much!

I didn’t vlog anymore, but we also visited some towns by the lake Balaton. It was so beautiful! To me it never seems like it’s a part of Hungary. In Balatonfüred we sat by the water drinking a nice glass of wine and then we walked around Tihany looking at the amazing view of the lake.

We also went to Esztergom a couple times, which is hometown and where I used to go to school. It was so nice to show my friend the place where I grew up!

I hope you all had a lovely summer! Let me know in the comments where you went on holiday!

Xx

P.

Leave a Reply

