How to write a diary?

I filled more than five little books with my own writing since I was a child. At the beginning, I documented my daily routins or programs assiduously, but after a while I realised that it’s not the point of writing a diary. It does not make me feel good, if I simply share what I did every day on paper in a bored voice. What I needed during my teenage years was a platform, where I can write down my feelings, and read them again or analise them.

It has been a few months since the last time I wrote into my diary that has little ducks on its cover, but as the effect of an event in my life, I decided to write again. I  simply had a feeling that I need to sit in my bed with a pen and paper, and think about what had happened. I felt so much better afterwards, that I decided to share my tips, because it might help some of you. A diary can be your own therapy, so it is very important to pay attention to the following things. Of course you don’t have to do everything I say, just memorise what you need, or change a few things.

diary2

1. Have a nice and safe diary!

If your little book looks so good that it tempts you to write in it, than there’s more chance that you will put it in your hands. No one wants to write into an old diary that has coffee spilt on it or that was chewn by a dog. It should look nice and clean, and you should have an organised feeling when you leave it on your desk. I am sure this will be good for your soul. If you don’t want others to read it (like your parents or your curious little brother), then choose one that has a lock on it, so it is safe. I know that cheap diaries all have the same locks, and you can open them easily with anything, so if you really want to keep your diary your secret, you can even hide it. The point is that it should feel safe to you.

2. Only write if you really want to!

After a while you will feel when you need to write down your thoughts. It is not at all good, if you feel like you have to do it, like it is obligatory, so don’t make it a daily task. It should be a ritual, a little pamper for your soul, so you will feel special. If it is part of your daily routine, the magic will disappear.

3. Make yourself comfortable!

It is important not to let anyone disturb you, while you’re writing your diary, because that’s the only way you can focus fully on your thoughts. Lock the door of your room, hide behind a tree, or sit in the bath, the point is that you should be alone. Sit comfortably, lump down on your pillows, turn on your bedside lamp, you can even have some chocolate or a cup of tea. If you feel comfortable, you can set your thoughts free.

4. Be honest!

If you’re not honest with yourself, than who else could you be honest with? As it is about your own feelings, it may be the most important thing that you don’t lie to yourself. If you try to convince yourself about something, then you won’t feel better afterwards. I often write what I want to think, then admit that I lied, apologise and write down the truth. I have to be honest, even if it’s painful, or if it’s making me sad. You can only feel better if you write the heartfelt, plain truth.

5. Be creative!

Your diary should be a place where you can write anything that comes into your mind. Write down your opinion, or try to imagine a particular situation: „What if…?” It helps me a lot to think about the possible consequences or solutions to a problem. You can also use colored pens, pencils or stickers to make your pages more colorful. You can even draw or make illustrations if you feel like. Do not hold yourself back, let out everything that you’re thinking about.

diary4

I hope these tips will help you lead your diary more effectively, or make you want to start a new one. If you are already into writing your diary, don’t forget to turn back some pages, because after a while you will see things differently. You can realise something that you may didn’t at first. I always like to open my old diaries and read them again. It is interesting to see the thoughts of my 12-year-old self, and be nostalgic for a couple of hours. I hope with this post I can give you the same wonderful experience!

P.

diary1

Leave a Reply

